We were saddened to learn earlier this week of the loss of Andy Shepherd, the husband of our late Founder, Linda, who died in March.  Andy had been in poor health, not helped by the burden of losing Linda but this news came unexpectedly, bringing a double sadness to CSF in 2017.  Despite retiring as Treasurer in 2014, Andy continued to give support to us all at CSF (National).  His wisdom, quiet humour and positive advice was always welcome.

Margaret York, the editor of Touchlines and former President of Dordogne Est & Lot, says  “I met Andy and Linda at the CSF (National) AGM on March 18th 2010, just after I had become local President. Andy was ‘on the door’ and welcomed me to my first AGM, explaining what I needed to do with papers etc. He was tall, but in no way an overbearing man; he was gentle, quite quiet, very knowledgeable about all things CSF and a stickler for what was right and what was not, in accordance with our Statutes.  Over the years, I found him to be even more knowledgeable about ‘stuff’ outside of CSF and his sense of humour was very dry and very, very funny.

When I approached him about taking on the Editorship of Touchlines (Note: Margaret was the editor for some years, then had a break), he could not have been more helpful and, to this day, I still have the notes I took about how to ‘do it’ and I have referred back to them as I take on the role again. I could say that his introduction to desktop publishing has brought me to where I am today and has been of great benefit.  I felt comfortable being on the National Conseil with Andy there; he always brought a sense of order to proceedings and was the voice of reason.

Andy was a very kind man. He will be missed.”

* Picture was taken at the National AGM 2011. Back Row Gary and Diana Healey (Vendee), Richard Mozley (Riberac), Tony Benstead (Dordogne Sud), Margaret York (Dordogne Est & Lot), Ivan Holliday (Deux-Sevres). Front Row Jane Thomas (National Secretary), Linda Shepherd (National President), Andy Shepherd (National Treasurer).

November 2017